Hamilton Wentworth Elementary Teachers’ Local

About Us

The Hamilton-Wentworth Elementary Teachers’ Local is comprised of approximately 2,200 Elementary Teachers employed by the Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board. HWETL is an affiliate of the Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario and as such is a professional organization dedicated to safeguarding and advancing the cause of publicly funded education while advocating for the interests and well being of its members. HWETL is also a labour union determined to secure and maintain fair and reasonable collective bargaining rights for its members. HWETL strives for membership involvement, while providing professional and personal services for all Hamilton-Wentworth Elementary Teachers. Recognizing and respecting diversity allows this organization to act as a unified body to fulfill its mandate of service for all members and the community.

Contact Us

Mailing Address:

105 Nebo Road
Hamilton Ontario L8W 2E1

Phone: 905-318-2771
Fax: 905-318-2550

Office Manager: Carleigh Hochheimer (Email)


Released Officers

  • President – Jeff Sorensen Email
  • Chief Negotiator/Grievance Officer – Cindy Gangaram Email Collective Agreement & Staffing Questions
  • Interim Vice-President – Sandra Emery EmailSchools A-G
  • Vice President – Michelle Pickett-Hershey EmailSchools H-N & Itinerant & System Teachers
  • Vice President – Michelle Konior EmailSchools O-Y & Self-Contained Classes
  • Treasurer – Kim Dichazi (Yorkview) Email

Non-Released Officer

Secretary- Heidi Flemming (Westwood/ Janet Lee) Email


Roger Anderson (Huntington Park)
Heather Fudge (Queen Mary)
Shideh Houshmandi (Parkdale)
Cassandra Mizzi (Ecole Michaelle Jean)
Carla Sikora (Chedoke)
Peter Weaver (Hillcrest)